A Travellerspoint blog

Sahara Race 2008

Cairo, the host city of the Sahara Race (Egypt) is located on the banks and islands of the Nile River in the north of Egypt, immediately south of the point where the river leaves its desert-bound valley and breaks into two branches into the low-lying Nile Delta region.

Quick Facts: - Roughly 150 competitors from 30 countries will be competing in the Sahara Race - The youngest competitor is 21 years old from Canada and the eldest is 73 from the United Kingdom - The largest contingent of competiors comes from the United Kingdom followed by the United States - The first-ever local team from Egypt will take part in the Sahara Race (Egypt) 2008 - Seventy five percent of the competitors are male and twenty five percent are female, the largest percentage of females ever in a 4 Deserts event - The Intel Cybertent will have 11 aidstation laptops for emails, blogs and results - The Sahara Desert is the largest non-polar desert in the world - The Western Desert of Egypt, a part of the Sahara Desert, covers a total area of 2.8 million sq km and is bordered by Libya in the west, Sudan in the south and the Mediterranean in the north - There are only five isolated oases in this vast expanse of the Western Desert - Farafra Oasis is the smallest oasis in the Western Desert - The largest excavation of mummies was made in a 6 sq km area around Bahariya in the late 1990s, in an area close where the Sahara Race will take place - Two individuals will be vying to be the first in the world to complete the 4 Deserts in a calendar year, Dean Karnazes of the United States, and Paul Liebenberg of South Africa -- at the start of the year, four were trying to be the first

In the end, after 6 days in the desert and after all was said and done, the award ceremony took place at the Moevenpick Media City. It was, "no surprise" that Ryan N. Sandes (S. Africa) was the overall winner of the event, as he had won every stage and repeated his spectacular performance at the Gobi March (2008) China. Sandes said, "it is awesome to have won this event, but to be honest, I think that everyone here is a winner, and that it is about the journey not the destination. I have so much respect for Jack Denness (UK) and Woon Noh Cheung (S. Korea) for having completed this event, and they are an inspiration to keep running." Nina Breith (Germany) was declared the overall Women's winner, she maintained a steady lead for the entire race, having more than a 2 ½ hour time gap on 2nd placing female Mirjana K. Pellizzer (Croatia). The 2nd place overall award went to Dean Karnazes (USA) - Karnazes is attempting to complete all 4 Deserts in one calendar year, and has so far placed consistently in the top 4 in the past three races. Karnazes graciously accepted the award. "We all crossed the same finish line today, and I feel so much gratitude for having run next to all of you in this event," said Karnazes. Paolo Barghini (Italy) was handed an award for his outstanding performance and placing 3rd overall. He dedicated his achievement to his friend who recently passed away. Mirjana K. Pellizzer (Croatia) received an award for being the 2nd placing female in the Sahara Race (2008) Egypt. 3rd placing was Cleo J. Oliver (UK).

For photos, blogs and videos of the race, click here.

After the race, i spend a couple of days in Cairo and 1.5 days in Doha, Qatar.

Posted by grizzly99 17:00 Archived in Egypt

Email this entryFacebookStumbleUpon

Table of contents

Be the first to comment on this entry.

Comments on this blog entry are now closed to non-Travellerspoint members. You can still leave a comment if you are a member of Travellerspoint.